Featured Artist

December 11, 2010 § Leave a comment

I am delighted to have artist friends featured on the walls in the store.

Merle Harstone of Caledon was the first with her colourful, large abstracts making quite a statement.  I was sorry to see them go as I loved them!

Merle Harstone's Artwork

Visit Merle’s website here .

Presently, Kim McCarthy’s work grace the walls.  Kim works with encaustics – oil pigments suspended in a wax and resin base.  Kim’s pieces are rich in colour and texture … and filled with symbolism.  Visit Kim’s website here.

Kim McCarthy's Artwork

I really look forward to hosting other artist’s work here in the future.

Now that I am on the topic of art, many of you probably know that I also have a few wonderful pieces by local wire sculptor, Iris Casey.  Iris made me the “shoekat” that sits outside the store as well as a small shoe that is in the store.

shoekat sculpture by Iris Casey

I will be featuring Iris’s work sometime in the future.  Her work is really quite remarkable – tiny hummingbirds, quail, ducks, hens and even a large goose in flight.  Iris is so creative; if you ever get a chance, you should visit her at Stonedragon Studio.  Take this link to Iris’s “website in the making”.

A few pieces of my own work can be found in the store too … I have a giclee print and some other digital photographs here and also a few small glass pieces with plans to bring a few other pieces in at some point too …  check out my website here.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Featured Artist at Shoe Kat Shoo Blog.

meta